Alumni

SSDL Alumni: 2016

Tyler Anderson
MS AE 12/16
tyanderson91@gmail.com

Zachary Levine
MS AE 12/16
Systems Test Engineer II
Northrop Grumman
Redondo Beach, CA
zlevine3@gatech.edu

Rob Booher
MS AE 8/16
Guidance, Navigation and Control Engineer
SpaceX
Hawthorne, CA
Robert.Booher@spacex.com

Ryan Coder
PhD AE 8/16
rcoder3@gatech.edu

Kevin Seywald
MS AE 8/16
kevin.seywald@gmail.com

Bryce Woollard
MS AE 8/16
brycewoollard@gmail.com

Francesca Margherita Favarò
PhD AE 5/16
francesca.m.favaro@gmail.com

Mariusz Grøtte
MS AE 5/16
Researcher in Warfare and Defense
Norwegian Defense Research Establishment
Horten, Norway
m.grotte@outlook.com

Jeremy Hill
PhD AE 5/16
Research Staff Member
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
jeremy.hill@gatech.edu

Bolys Sabitbek
MS AE 5/16
PhD Student
Institute of Mathematics and Mathematical Modeling
sabytbek.bolys@gmail.com

2015-2016 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.


SSDL Alumni: 2015

Sean Chait
MA AE 12/15
Orbital ATK
Dulles, VA
schait03@gmail.com

Adam Snow
MS AE 12/15
Chief Technology Officer
Trellis, Inc.
Atlanta, GA
acsnow6@gmail.com

Zachary Putnam​
PhD AE 5/15
Assistant Professor
Department of Aerospace Engineering
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL
zputnam@illinois.edu


2014-2015 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.


SSDL Alumni: 2014

Jason Ginn
MS AE 12/14
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
emailjason@gatech.edu

Brooke Harper
MS AE 5/14
Systems Engineer - EDL and Advanced Technologies Group
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
bharper2466@gmail.com


2013-2014 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.


SSDL Alumni: 2013

Nitin Arora
PhD AE 8/13
Research Staff Member
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
nitin.life@gmail.com

Zarrin Chua
PhD AE 8/13
Postdoctoral Researcher
Centre Aéronautique et Spatial (facteur humain et neroergonomie)
Institut Supérieur de l'Aéronautique et l'Espace
Toulouse, France
zarrin.chua@gmail.com

Chris Cordell
PhD AE 12/13
Electro-Optical Systems Laboratory
Georgia Tech Research Institute
Atlanta, GA
chris.cordell@gatech.edu

Soumyo Dutta
PhD AE 12/13
Aerospace Engineer
Atmospheric Flight and Entry Systems Branch
NASA Langley Research Center
Hampton, VA
soumyo.dutta@gmail.com

Rachel Haga
MS AE 5/13
Carnesville, GA
rhaga3@gatech.edu

Milad Mahzari
PhD AE 12/13
Entry Systems and Vehicle Development Branch
NASA Ames Research Center
Moffett Field, CA
milad.mahzari@gmail.com

Amit Mandalia
MS AE 12/13
GNC Engineer
Space X
Hawthorne, CA
amit.b.mandalia@gmail.com

Matthew Miller
MS AE 5/14
Atlanta, GA
mmiller@gatech.edu

Brad Steinfeldt
PhD AE 8/13
Senior Member of Technical Staff
Sandia National Laboratories
Dublin, CA
bastein@sandia.gov

Richard Zappulla II
MS AE 8/13
Boca Raton, FL
rzappulla3@gatech.edu

Lab Photo 2012-2013
2012-2013 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.


SSDL Alumni: 2012

Nikki Bauer
MS AE 8/12
Operations Support Officer
ISS Mission Operations
NASA Johnson Space Center
Houston, TX
nikki.bauer4@gmail.com

Joy Brathwaite
PhD AE 5/12
Research Staff Member
Institute for Defense Analyses
Washington, D.C.
gte214s@gmail.com

Loïc Brevault 
MS AE 12/12
PhD Student
CNES/Onera (French Space Agency)
Paris, France
loic.brevault@gmail.com

Jean-Francois Castet
PhD AE 12/12
jcastet3@gatech.edu

Jessica Juneau Clark
MS AE 5/12
Systems Engineer
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
jjuneau3@gatech.edu

Mike Grant
PhD AE 5/12
Assistant Professor
School of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN
mjgrant@gmail.com

Cole Kazemba
MS AE 5/12
Aerospace Engineer
Systems Analysis and Entry Systems and Vehicle Development Branches
NASA Ames Research Center
Mountain View, CA
kaze0024@gmail.com

Ashley Korzun
PhD AE 5/12
Research Aerospace Engineer
Atmospheric Flight and Entry Systems Branch
NASA Langley Research Center
Hampton, VA
ashley.m.korzun@nasa.gov

Jarret Lafleur
PhD AE 5/12
Senior Member of the Technical Staff
Homeland Security and Defense Systems
Sandia National Laboratories
Livermore, CA
jarret.lafleur@sandia.gov

Ian Meginnis
MS AE 5/12
Aerospace Engineer
Crew and Thermal Systems Division
NASA Johnson Space Center
Houston, TX
ianmeginnis@gmail.com

Matt Nehrenz
MS AE 5/12
Aerospace Engineer
Mission Design Center
NASA Ames Research Center
Moffett Field, CA
nehrenzm@gmail.com

Richard Otero
PhD AE 5/12
Flight System Engineer II
EDL Systems & Advanced Technologies Group
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
rich.otero@gmail.com

Chris Tanner
PhD AE 5/12
Mechanical Engineer II
Entry, Descent, and Landing and Formulation
Spacecraft Mechanical Engineering
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
christopher.l.tanner@jpl.nasa.gov

Luke Walker
MS AE 5/12
Systems Engineer I
Mission Engineering and Planning Group
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
luke.walker@jpl.nasa.gov

Allison Willingham
MS AE 12/12
Aerospace Engineer
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Greenbelt, MD
allison.l.willingham@gmail.com


 

Lab Photo 2011-2012
2011-2012 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2011

Greg Dubos
PhD AE 5/11
Systems Engineer
Mission Systems Concepts
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
greg.dubos@gatech.edu

Sarah McNeese
MS AE 5/11
Mission Integrator
Product and Mission Management
SpaceX
Hawthorne, CA
sarahemilymcneese@gmail.com

Hemanshu Patel
MS AE 12/11
Aerospace Engineer
Emergent Space Technologies
Greenbelt, MD
h.patel@gatech.edu

Amanda Pietruszewski
MS AE 12/11
Principal Systems Engineer
University Nanosat Program
Jackson and Tull
Albuquerque, NM
ANPietruszewski@gmail.com

Josh Ross
MS AE 12/11
Engineer
Technical Operations - East Group
Orbital Sciences Corporation
Sterling, VA
j.s.ross@gatech.edu


 

Lab Photo 2010-2011

2010-2011 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2010

Wade Birdwell
MS AE 5/10
Space Operations Officer
United States Army
Colorado Springs, CO
bellicose_bear@hotmail.com

John Dec
PhD AE 5/10
Aerospace Engineer
NASA Langley Research Center
Hampton, VA
john.a.dec@nasa.gov

Jenny Kelly
MS AE 5/10
Research Engineer
Space Systems Design Laboratory
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, GA
jenny.kelly@gatech.edu

Gregory Lantoine
PhD AE 12/10
Aerospace Engineer
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
gregory.lantoine@gmail.com

Scott Martinelli
MS AE 8/10
Member of the Technical Staff
Space Architecture Department
The Aerospace Corporation
El Segundo, CA
scott.martinelli@gmail.com

Brandon Smith
MS AE 12/10
Aerospace Engineer
Entry Systems and Vehicle Development Branch
NASA Ames Research Center
Moffett Field, CA
bsmithgt@gmail.com

Nathalie Vedie
MS AE 5/10
Software Developer Engineer
Thales
Toulouse, France
nathalie.vedie@gmail.com


 

Lab Photo 2009-2010

2009-2010 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2009

Kristina Alemany
PhD AE 12/09
Senior Member of the Technical Staff
Space Architecture Department
The Aerospace Corporation
El Segundo, CA
kalemany@gmail.com

Adam Brinckerhoff
MS AE 5/09
Development Engineer
SpaceUnited
Broomfield, CO
adam.brinckerhoff@gmail.com

Ian Clark
PhD AE 8/09
Systems Engineer
EDL and Advanced Technologies Group
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
ian.clark@gatech.edu

Thomas Hiriart
MS AE 12/09
Columbus Spaceflight Controller
DLR
Munich, Germany
thomas.hiriart@gmail.com

Allison Hutchings
MS AE 8/09
Engineer 2
ATA Engineering
San Diego, CA
allison.hutchings@ata-e.com

LTJG Christopher Marsh
MS AE 5/09
Student Naval Aviator
U.S. Navy
Pensacola, FL
christopher.l.marsh@gmail.com

Bala Radharamanan
MS AE 5/09
Macon, GA
gtg079r@mail.gatech.edu


Lab Photo 2008-2009

2008-2009 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2008

Kevin Flaherty
MS AE 05/08
Aerospace Propulsion Division
Wright Patterson Air Force Base
Dayton, OH
kevin.flaherty@wpafb.af.mil

Jimmy Young
PhD AE 12/08
Senior Systems Engineer
ARES Corporation
Houston, TX
jyoung@arescorporation.com

2007-2008 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel Photo Not Available.

SSDL Alumni: 2007

John Christian
MS AE 05/07
University of Texas
Austin, TX
john.a.christian@mail.utexas.edu

Timothy Kokan
PhD AE 02/07
Advanced Concepts Group
Pratt & Whitney
Huntsville, AL
timothy.kokan@pwr.utc.com

Kara Kranzusch
MS AE 12/07
NASA Johnson Space Center
Houston, TX
kara.m.kranzusch@nasa.gov

Zack Krevor
PhD AE 08/07
Project Orion Reliability, Maintainability & Supportability
Lockheed Martin
Denver, CO
zachary.c.krevor@lmco.com

Reuben Rohrschneider
PhD AE 05/07
Systems Engineering, Spacecraft Subsystems
Ball Aerospace
Boulder, CO
rrohrsch@ball.com

Angela Spence
MS AE 08/07
U.S. Air Force
Store Separations Engineer
Eglin AFB, FL
angela.spence@eglin.sf.mil

Ben Stahl
MS AE 12/07
NASA Johnson Space Center
Houston, TX
benjamin.a.stahl@nasa.gov

Robert Thompson
MS AE 5/07
Waterford, VA
Bob.Thompson@gatech.edu

David Young
PhD AE 05/07
Future Technical Leader
Northrop Grumman
San Bernardino, CA
david.young@ngc.com


Lab Photo 2006-2007

2006-2007 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2006

Scott Francis
MS AE 05/06
Entry Systems Design
Lockheed-Martin Space Systems
Littleton, CO
scott.francis@lmco.com

Zach Putnam
MS AE 05/06
Entry Guidance & Control
Charles Stark Draper Laboratory
Houston, TX
zputnam@draper.com

David Street
MS AE 05/06
Exploration Systems Design
Lockheed-Martin Space Systems
Littleton, CO
david.street@lmco.com


Lab Photo 2005-2006

2005-2006 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2005

Luke Colby
MS AE 05/05
Space Propulsion
Scaled Composites, LLC
Mojave, CA
colby@scaled.com

Barry Hellman
MS AE 08/05
Aerospace Systems Design
ASC/XRE
Wright Patterson Air Force Base
barry.hellman@wpafb.af.mil

Devin Kipp
MS AE 05/05
Planetary Entry
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
devin.m.kipp@jpl.nasa.gov

Ravi Prakash
MS AE 05/05
Planetary Atmospheric Flight
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA
ravi.prakash@jpl.nasa.gov


Lab Photo 2004-2005

2004-2005 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2004

Nichols Brown
MS AE 05/04
Senior Member of the Technical Staff
Space Architecture Department
The Aerospace Corporation
El Segundo, CA
nichols.f.brown@aero.org

John Crowley
MS AE 05/04
Space Propulsion
CDI Aerospace 
West Palm Beach, FL

Virgil Hutchinson, Jr. 
MS AE 05/04
Advanced Programs Group
Orbital Science Corporation
Dulles, VA
hutchinson.virgil@orbital.com

John D. Reeves
MS AE 07/04
Operations and Life-Cycle Analysis
NASA Langley Research Center
Hampton, VA
j.d.reeves@larc.nasa.gov

Tadashi Sakai
PhD AE 12/04
NHK International Corp.
Wixom, MI
tadashi.sakai@nhk-intl.com


 

Lab Photo 2003-2004

2003-2004 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2003

Alex Keisner
MS AE 12/03
Analytic Partners
New York, NY
alexkeisner@gmail.com

Brad St. Germain
PhD AE 08/03
Advanced Concepts
SpaceWorks Engineering, Inc.
Atlanta, GA
brad.stgermain@sei.aero

Stephen Steffes
MS AE 12/03
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Bremen, Germany
ssteffes@gmail.com


 

Lab Photo 2002-2003

2002-2003 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2002

Jeff Miller
MS AE 05/02
Aero & CAD
The Boeing Company
Seal Beach, CA
jeffrey.j.miller@boeing.com

Eric Staton
MS AE 05/02
Operations & Safety
Sverdrup Technology, Inc.
Huntsville, AL
eric.staton@msfc.nasa.gov


 

Lab Photo 2001-2002

2001-2002 Academic Year Space Systems Design Laboratory Personnel.

SSDL Alumni: 2001

Ryan Bechtel
MS AE 05/01
TBCC Propulsion
Pratt & Whitney
E. Hartford, CT
ryanbechtel@hotmail.com

John Bradford
PhD AE 08/01
Hypersonic Propulsion
SpaceWorks Engineering Inc.
Atlanta, GA john.bradford@sei.aero

Tim Cormier
MS AE 12/01
Propulsion
Pratt & Whitney
E. Hartford, CT
cormieta@pweh.com

Stephen Izon
MS AE 12/01
TPS & Aeroheating
Booz Allen
McLean, VA Izon_Stephen@bah.com

Steven Lee
MS AE 08/01
INSEAD, MBA Program
France 
steven.ll@alumni.insead.edu

Leland Marcus
MS AE 12/01
Systems Planning & Analysis
Alexandria, VA lmarcus@spa.com

David McCormick
PhD AE 08/01
Uncertainty Analysis & MDO
The Boeing Company
Seal Beach, CA
david.j.mccormick@boeing.com

James McIntire
MS AE 05/01
Aero & CAD
MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Boston, MA
james@ll.mit.edu

Randy Morrell
MS AE 08/01
Propulsion
GE Power Systems
Atlanta, GA
randy.morrell@ps.ge.com

Doug Nelson
MS AE 05/01
Trajectories
Orbital Sciences Corp.
Dulles, VA
nelson.doug@orbital.com

Andrew Scott
MS AE 05/01
Frameworks & MDO
Lockheed Martin Astronautics
Denver, CO
andrew.scott@lmco.com

David Way
PhD AE 08/01
Planetary Entry & MDO
NASA Langley Research Center
Hampton, VA
d.w.way@larc.nasa.gov

John Weglian
MS AE 12/01
Senior Member Engineering Staff
Lockheed Martin MS2
Moorestown, NJ
john.e.weglain@lmco.com

SSDL Alumni: 2000

Irene Budianto
PhD AE 12/00
Trajectory & Orbital Mechanics
U.S. Air Force Research Lab
Albuquerque, NM
irene_budianto@lycos.com

A.C. Charania
MS AE 08/00
Engineering Economics
SpaceWorks Engineering, Inc.
Atlanta, GA
ac@sei.aero

Kris Cowart
MS AE 05/00
TPS & Aeroheating
U.S. Air Force
Eglin AFB, FL
thecowarts@cox.net

Laura Krothapalli (Ledsinger)
PhD AE 08/00
Trajectory & Orbital Mechanics
The Aerospace Corporation
El Segundo, CA
laura.a.krothapalli@aero.org

SSDL Alumni: 1999

Kirk Sorensen
MS AE 12/99
Aero & CAD
NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
Huntsville, AL

Jeff Tooley
MS AE 12/99
Performance
The Aerospace Corporation
El Segundo, CA
jtooley@canal.aero.org

SSDL Alumni: 1998

David Acton
MS AE 06/98
Frameworks/MDO
Ball Aerospace Corp.
Boulder, CO
dacton@ball.com

Jeff Scott
MS AE 12/98
Aero & CAD
RSA Engineering
Anchorage, AK
jscott@rsa-ak.com

Kim Steadman
MS AE 06/98
Frameworks/ISE
Jet Propulsion Lab
Pasadena, CA
kimberly.b.steadman@jpl.nasa.gov

Jeff Whitfield
MSM 08/98
Economics
WorldWideTesting
Atlanta, GA
jeff_whitfield@yahoo.com

SSDL Alumni: 1997

Peter Bellini
MS AE 12/97
Performance/CAD
Lockheed Martin Astronautics
Denver, CO
peter.x.bellini@lmco.com

Hosung "Mike" Lee
MS AE 08/97

Patrick McGinnis
MS 06/97
Propulsion
Pratt & Whitney
West Palm Beach, FL
mcginns@pw.utc.com

SSDL Alumni: 1996

Greg Saks
MS AE 06/96
Propulsion
Lockheed Martin Astronautics
Huntsville, AL
greg.saks@lmco.com